Testimonials

Susan K
"Absolutely Fabulous Stay!"

My husband and I took a respite at Abangane Lodge for 3 nights while in between Safari Lodges. Wow, is all I can say! Such a beautiful retreat... amazing gardens, pool, and hospitality! The breakfast was to die for, and felt so relaxed while over-looking the magnificent groves of Macadamia Nut Trees from the lovely and welcoming patio. Our room was spacious, cozy and very clean. We had a terrific sleep in the luxurious king bed. The honest bar was well utilized and was a great touch of convenience.

What was good and bad for us... good - we were the only ones there, bad - we felt terrible that Covid has limited tourism, and I would highly encourage putting this lovely Guest Lodge on your list of places to stay while in the area. It is so worth it if looking for a retreat to simply relax, a home base for seeing the Blyde River Canyon and surrounding waterfalls, or for day tripping to Kruger National Park.

Thank you Margrit for your generosity and sharing your beautiful home with us... amazing!!

Susan K Birmingham, Alabama, USA May 2021
Jacobsen
"Filled our needs and have no complaints."

Location is great - close to Krueger Park and Sabi River Sun golf course. Very friendly, helpful and approachable staff and owner.

Jacobsen South Africa May 2021
Shivani S
"Bliss and Perfection!"

The blissful memories of my stay still linger in my mind! Margrit is a thoughtful, kind and ever- willing to help host. I will certainly visit again! The serenity and peace at the lodge was exactly what I needed.

Shivani S Johannesburg April 2021
Innocentia
"Peaceful and Very nice place to be in"

The place is exactly how it is advertised
Very nice and peaceful wow their services are to die for...Definitely going to visit it again ...Loved everything there
My husband and I loved the place so much we still talk about it even today

Innocentia Polokwane, South Africa April 2021
Edison
"Exceptional"

The place is beautiful, clean, well-taken care of. The staff is amazing, the host is very nice and goes an extra mile to make sure everyone is comfortable. The pool is lovely at night all heated. breakfast is awesome. I'd like to come back again. I 100% recommend it

Edison South Africa March 2021
Tumi
"Superb"

Loved the food, the tranquility, the packed lunch to the Kruger National Park and Margrit's fine touches and attention to detail... Its definitely a place we will visit again...

Tumi South Africa January 2021
Steve J
"Wonderful oasis very conveniently located to Kruger National Park"

We made a trip from Jo'burg wanting to spend some time in the KNP before travelling on to a timeshare week elsewhere in Mpumalanga. We stayed at Abangane for 2 nights and found it to be a delightful, peaceful haven and superb value for money. Conveniently, it is only approx. 15 minutes drive from the Phabeni Gate of the KNP during non-peak hours.

In addition, Margrit, the owner, is extremely hospitable and shows attention to detail with little touches that make the experience wonderful. As we left for a very early morning start on one day she made brunch hampers and even baked special banting bread and cake responding to one of our party's special dietary requirements. The following day we had a lovely leisurely breakfast on the outdoor patio/pool area. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet and the swimming pool a welcome relief after a hot day in the KNP. We would definitely return to this oasis of peacefulness when our travel plans again bring us to the area.

Steve J Johannesburg December 2020
Isaac
"Breath taking views and a relaxed atmosphere."

Excellent views and a quiet place to relax. The host and her staff were excellent and treated us so well.

Isaac South Africa December 2020
Everard
"Lovely tranquil guest house, convenient for Kruger and Blyde Canyon"

Exceptional room, bed and breakfast. Lovely garden and attention to even the smallest detail. Top class with very helpful owner regarding area and Kruger

Everard United Kingdom February 2020
ethorn290457
"Top Class Guest House"

This is one of the best B&B we have stayed iron our visits to SA where standards are high. The room was spacious with nice furnishings, an excellent large comfortable bed with a mosquito net that was not at all claustrophobic being far from the face and body on a fixed frame, All amenities were present in the room. The bathroom was beautiful clean with nice effective shower, two basins and shaving mirror etc. Lovely home made cakes were made available each day and the honesty bar was excellent. The grounds were beautifully kept, peaceful with excellent views over the hills and academia fields. Host was friendly, informative and highly professional

ethorn290457 February 2020
Mathieu
"Exceptional"

Fabulous location, really special. Margaret the owner was very knowledgeable and helpful. The pool is lovely and the breakfast very very good. The rooms are delightful. The bar is a great addition too.

Mathieu France March 2020
Hanne & Jeroen
"Perfect start of our Honeymoon"

The Abangane Guest Lodge is a really beautiful place to stay! The perfect location to visit the Panorama route en the Kruger park.

Margrit gave us a lot of information on which highlights we must visit! The route she gave us in the Kruger Park was also very beautiful! We were lucky to see a Rhino!

The pool was very nice, with a beautiful view. Perfect to take a dip after a long day!

 

Everyday we were looking forward to the treat of the day, homemade by Margrit. They were delicious everytime!! The breakfast was also made with love, and very tasteful! We really going to miss these little things on the rest of our trip!

 

The whole staff was very friendly! It really felt like coming home here!

If we come back to South Africa, we will definitely stay here again for a couple of days!!

 

Regards, Hanne & Jeroen

Hanne & Jeroen Herk-de-Stad, Belgium January 2020
Juergen_Manuela
"Anytime again"

Excellent lodge, very personal service. We felt very comfortable and can recommend the Abangane Guest Lodge at any time. The recommendations for our excursions and the organization of the guided tour were extremely helpful.

Thank you very much

Juergen_Manuela November 2019
Allelangs
"Very nice location close to Krüger Park"

We stayed 2 nights in Abangane loge mainly to visit Krüger park. As we started very early to avoid waiting times @ entrance gates we got a great lunch package and a good hint from our host for a perfect breakfast location in the park - thanks!. The lodge was very comfortable and the pool provided a nice refreshment after a long day in the Kruger park. Hazyview is very close and some good restaurants could be found easily. Recommendation.

Allelangs November 2019
Tariq

Margrit was very friendly and helped us from the moment we arrived till we left. The lodge oversees a farm with a great view. Guest rooms are clean and well equipped with everything you might need. They open directly to the garden where there are tables and chairs for relaxation. There is also a common area where breakfast is served in the morning and afternoon cake, it has a fireplace which they lit after dark that gives a homey and lovely atmosphere to the place. Margrit arranged for us a safari tour with an awesome guide (Trevor). She gave us good recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing around the area. We loved our stay at Abangane Guesthouse and would highly recommend it.

Tariq Saudi Arabia October 2019
Langdale12
"Attention to detail"

We’ve stayed in several properties in this area over the years and this one is simply the best we have encountered. Reached by a longish dirt track, this property is surrounded by citrus and has a view across a valley. There is a heated pool, with an infinity section. There are plenty of places to relax in and outdoors, with coffee, tea and cakes provided as part of the deal. There is also a well priced and reasonably well stocked honesty bar.

The rooms are a good size and are clean, well maintained and equipped with everything you might need, from water, through more cake, sherry, torches, mosquito machines, mosquito spray, etc etc. There has truly been a lot of attention paid to the small details.

Breakfast is a great selection, with plentiful fresh fruits and an interesting variety of breads alongside a broad cooked offer. Our only disappointment was the bacon, done in the American way, ie streaky bacon cooked to a crisp. Shame, but perhaps they get more Americans then British?

Staff are welcoming and efficient. We could go on, but we think by now you get the message that this modest size B&B is really good and well deserved of the 5* we give it.

Langdale12 Penrith, United Kingdom October 2019
David
"Attention to Detail"

The attention to detail obvious to any visitor sets this property apart. There is lots to commend and almost nothing negative to say. Great location, great facilities, great breakfast, very clean, lots of little extra touches. Friendly and efficient staff.

David United Kingdom September 2019
Amna
"Relaxing stay at Abangane"

My father and I stayed at Abangane for a weekend. We found it to be an absolutely lovely place. The lodge is well decorated, clean and a good location for those going for a safari! The view is so beautiful we felt relaxed immediately. Margrit is a warm and welcoming host. She prepares an exquisite breakfast every morning (&cake in the evening). Thank you for a memorable experience!

Amna September 2019
Emma Murray
"Amazing Stay!"

Staying at Abangane was the highlight of our trip. It is a beautiful setting, with a pool overlooking beautiful scenery. The lodge is truly luxurious, with guest rooms that provide ample space as well as high-quality extras like coffee and extraordinary baked goods. Two of us had dietary restrictions, which they easily accommodated for both meals at the lodge and for our packed to-go safari meals. Margaret, the owner, is lovely and worked actively to understand all of our needs. She made the experience especially worry-free and extra special. So glad we had the opportunity to stay here.

Emma Murray August 2019
tutefruut
"rondreis za"

mooie B&B. je wordt er zeer goed ontvangen en krijgt erg goede uitleg met wat je kan doen en zelfs hoe je best door Kruger gaat. ontbijt erg lekker. ruime en erg propere kamer. dat de eigenaars een paar jaar terug onmiddellijk verliefd waren op dit domein en het dan ook kochten, kan ik erg goed begrijpen. je hebt hier een fantastisch uitzicht.

tutefruut July 2019
JaapPool,
"Perfect place to stay!"

We stayed for three nights in this guest house and we regretted we didn't book more nights.
The house is laying on a hill so the view especially from the swimming pool is wonderful.
Margrit and her staff were very friendly and the 'homemade' breakfast was delicious. The rooms were also perfect.
Margrit also advices us for some restaurants and for the right way to explore the panorama route.
Overall a perfect place to stay!

JaapPool, Ede, The Netherlands July 2019
"Wunderschöner Abschluss einer tollen Rundreise"

Wir sind zum Abschluss einer sehr schönen, erlebnisreichen zweiwöchigen Reise hier angekommen und wurden gleich sehr herzlich von Margrit begrüsst. Es gab sogar einen leckeren Begrüssungsdrink!

Die Zimmer sind geräumig, sehr sauber und liebevoll eingerichtet. Es gibt einen (beheizten!) Pool mit Liegen inkl. Handtuch und einem tollen Ausblick auf eine benachbarte Macadamia-Farm.

Das Frühstück war lecker. Am Nachmittag gab es immer einen selbstgemachten Kuchen mit Tee und Kaffee. Die Bar ist sehr gut ausgestattet, die Barpreise sind sehr fair.

Ein Highlight an Fürsorglichkeit war für uns, dass wir für den Safaritag eine Kühlbox mit Sandwich und allerlei Leckereien mitbekommen haben.

Danke, wir kommen bestimmt einmal wieder!

June2019
"Tolle Lodge mit einem sehr gepflegten Garten"

Wir waren leider nur zwei Nächte hier, haben die Zeit allerdings sehr genossen. Sehr schöne Zimmer, sehr gutes Frühstück. Nachmittags gibt es die Möglichkeit selbst gebackenen Kuchen bei Kaffee oder Tee zu genießen und abends kann man den Tag bei einem Glas Wein ausklingen lassen. Das Gastgeberpaar ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Guter Ausgangspunkt zum Blyde River Canon und zum Krüger NP. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt.

June 2019
robertcF6945CP
"Wunderschöne Lodge zum Abschluss einer langen Reise"

Diese Lodge ist allemal ihr Geld wert.

Gleich zu Beginn: Die „Straße“ zur Lodge ist ein sehr holpriger Feldweg. Scheint in SA oft so zu sein. Hatten wir auch bei der Lodge zuvor.

Wir hatten das ‚Honeymoon‘-Zimmer für 4 Nächte gemietet. Ein wunderschöner Ausblick auf Pool und Gartenanlage jeden Morgen erfreute uns schon nach dem Aufstehen. Alles war wunderbar gepflegt und liebevoll dekoriert. Die Besitzer (Joe und Margrit) waren immer freundlich. Und genauso auch die ‚Mädchen‘ (das Personal). Bei einem Willkommensdrink wurden wir gleich in den Hausgebrauch eingeführt. Eingangstore sind per Funk zu öffnen und zu schließen. Getränke gibt es an der hauseigenen Bar zur Selbstentnahme und gegen Eintragung in ein Buch, welche dann am Ende des Aufenthalts verrechnet wurden. Es war nicht erwünscht, selbst welche ins Haus mitzubringen. Haben wir akzeptiert. Punkt.

Das Zimmer war sehr groß mit anschließendem – offenem – Badezimmer. Eckbadewanne, separate Dusche, Doppel-Waschbecken, getrenntes WC. Das große (King-size) Doppelbett hatte rundum ein Moskitonetz, das aber bei unserem Aufenthalt nicht benötigt wurde.

Zum Frühstück saßen wir auf der freien Terrasse. Es gab aber auch die Möglichkeit unter Dach im Freien oder in einem Frühstücksraum zu sitzen, wo das Frühstücks Buffet angerichtet war. Zur Auswahl standen eine große Schüssel wunderbar frischer Obstsalat (u.a. mit Maracuja Fruchtfleisch!!) und ein Korb mit frischem Obst. Wurst, Schinken, Käse, Butter, selbstgemachte Marmeladen, Joghurt (Natur & Frucht). Wunschgemäß wurden auch die klassischen Eiergerichte zubereitet. Sehr guter Kaffee aus dem Automaten und die verschiedensten Sorten von Tee zur Selbstbedienung. An Süßspeisen gab es – unter anderem - von Margrit persönlich Gebackenes.

Die Abendessen in den von Joe empfohlenen Restaurants in der Nähe können wir nur weiterempfehlen.

So auch das ‚Resraurant‘ Potluck Boskombuis (Bush Kitchen) im Blyde River Canyon. Kein elektrischer Strom, aber kaltes Bier!!! Und super Speisen!!!

Resümee am Ende unserer Bewertung: 100% Zufriedenheit

robertcF6945CP Khao Lak, Thailand March 2019
D2213KWstevenw
"Abangane Visit : Wass Family"

We first visited Abangane in 2016 and fell in love with the location and service provided. This was then under the previous ownership and we were concerned that our next visit might not be the same. We were delighted to find that our previous memories had not faded and that the unique location was stil a jewel in the Eastern Transvaal. The setting of Abangane is very special and the new owners have taken the lodge to an even higher quality of service making you feel very much at home and providing every help possible to make your stay rewarding and memorable. The location of the lodge so close to Hazyview makes dining out very easy and accessible with good restaurant choices within 15 minutes of the lodge. Proximity to the Kruger National Park is very convenient for day visitors or those entering or leaving the park via Hazyview. We will definitely visit again when we are next in South Africa.

D2213KWstevenw Denby, United Kingdom February 2019
Melina F
"Perfekter Service in idyllischer Location"

Großes sauberes Zimmer mit tollem Ambiente, die Lodge bietet einen schönen Ausblick ins Grüne, die Ruhe und der schöne Pool laden zum entspannen ein. Das Frühstück war sehr reichhaltig. Zudem ist es immer schön, wenn die Gastgeber einem Insider Tipps für vor Ort geben können und gerne für ein Gespräch zu haben sind.

Würde diese Unterkunft immer wieder weiterempfehlen!

Melina F January 2019
Chloe D
"Wonderful place with beautiful views"

We stayed at Abangane in December for three nights and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms and setting were lovely and the view from the pool overlooking the macadamia trees is spectacular. Margrit is an excellent cook providing a almost entirely homemade breakfast (including homemade muesli and jams) each day and packed us a delicious cooler bag of goodies for the day we did a game drive with enough food to last for breakfast and lunch. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Chloe D Johannesburg, South Africa December 2018
Fearless04999133325
"Excellent Stay"

It was an excellent stay. The owners and the personnell were very friendly and suportive. We got several good recommendations of tours and locations. Overall, the guest lodge exceeded our expectations.

Fearless04999133325 Heiligenhaus, Germany November 2018
D2331FGpeterk
"Immaculate, Friendly, Gorgeous"

Abangane was a real “Find”. Beautiful setting overlooking groves of macadamias and rolling hills. Heated swimming pool. Comfortable, spacious room. Best of all, our friendly and super-helpful hosts Joe and Margrit, made us feel Very much at home. They also guided us exploring Kruger, Gods Window and Blyde Canyon, and other local attractions. Breakfast was delicious, with Austrian cuisine and Margrit is an outstanding patisseur, who baked mouth-watering cakes and treats every day for guests.

D2331FGpeterk Newburyport, Massachusetts October 2018
dberg999013
"Very nice lodge"

The Abangane guest lodge is a beautiful lodge with serene garden in the proximity of Kruger and the Panorama Route The rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely designed. Joe and Margrit are very friendly and helpful owners who will sit down with you at any moment of the day to help planning your trips It was a real pleasure to stay here.

dberg999013 Rotterdam, The Netherlands October 2018
Ilbelloelabestiasa
"Very good alternative to an hotel!"

We spent 4 nights in this lovely guest lodge and we really enjoyed it!
The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good and you can get everything you desire.
There is a nice swimming pool in the Gardens. Rooms are big, clean and elegant!
It is 15 minutes far from Phabeni gate.

Ilbelloelabestiasa September 2018
Nicole Engelhardt

Ein Geschenk auf Erden, mit Leidenschaft und Herzblut gepflegt und geführt ein Traum zum entspannen sowie fürs Bewusstsein

Nicole Engelhardt Utah, USA September 2018
Oupa Deanshanger
"Great comfort in a rural setting"

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at Abangane. The service & facilities were well-thought out & comprehensive, including the comfortable bedroom, tremendous bathroom & wonderful breakfast. Personable hospitality from Joe & Magrit made it even better & there were welcome features such as constant tea or coffee & home-made cake each afternoon. This was an excellent base for day trips to Kruger Park & the Blyde River Canyon; thanks to the hosts for helpful tips (Paul Kruger Gate in the morning rather than Phabeni; the Boskombuis on the Treur River for a unique lunch & trail). Can't wait to return.

Oupa Deanshanger United Kingdom August 2018
Albertovo5
"A piece of Eden"

As we drove in we were greeted by Joe who took us to our room and showed us around, everything was ready and perfect. The hospitality was outstanding. The evenings by the fireplace were exquisite, the self serve bar was great, and the breakfasts were delicious and well served. In short a great stay, would go back there.

Albertovo5 August 2018
John P
"Lovely setting and welcoming environment"

Margrit & Joe (the owners / managers) and the staff were very accommodating. The lodge is in a quiet area, with a wonderful backdrop. 5-minute drive around the corner and you have four restaurants to choose from. The lodge itself is quite beautiful with only around 5 rooms, which are large and well equipped. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful, and Joe provided all the information we needed to do the Panorama Route, which is well worth doing and about one hour drive away. We stayed for two nights as we were travelling to Kruger. We were very happy to have stopped off at Abangane Guest Lodge, and recommend it to anyone on their way to or from safari.

John P London, United Kingdom July 2018
Gil_REYNAUD
"Very beautiful place and welcoming guest"

Margrit and Joe have been very welcoming, and even spoke french to us! They generously provided advice and information about our journey in SA, and booked a safari of very good quality for us. The honeymoon room, and the whole guesthouse, were very nice. Thanks for everything

Gil_REYNAUD Pointe-a-Pitre, Guadeloupe June 2018
Bart Bosch

I told my travel agent to put me in an inspiring environment and he came up with this lodge: I couldn’t have wished for more! I have spend fabuleus days. Also the day at the Kruger park that they arranged for me: well organised with a brilliant and selected organisation, a very nice breakfast basket...

Bart Bosch Belgium May 2018
Maria Gomes Heaton

We had the best time here. The picturesque surrounds are so relaxing. The rooms beautiful and the food very delicious. There are so many small touches to the decor that makes it extra special. A +++.

Maria Gomes Heaton Sydney, Australia May 2018
MarcinCh76
"Great place, nice views, privacy and friendly service and fabulous breakfasts."

A great place located close to Hazyview but far enough to guarantee privacy and relaxed atmosphere. Nice and clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff can help you organize safari or recommend restaurants around. Don’t miss fabulous breakfasts served onsite by Margit.

MarcinCh76 Krakow, Poland May 2018
pbersi666356
"Most beautiful place in Hazyview"

This is overall a wonderful area, but this place... it's a hidden gem. The view, the building, the attention to detail, the decor and the kindness of the hosts. It's all incredible. I was there with my boyfriend and our parents, and they were all astonished by the beauty of this place. We couldn't ask for anything more.

pbersi666356 London, United Kingdom May 2018
Evahe
"Wonderful hosts and view, Excellent Breakfast, great rooms"

The gravel road to the Lodge is the only negative Point, we found, otherwise everything was perfect including the pool and the WLAN close to the reception (in room there was no signal)
Best breakfast, we had in Southafrica, and it was almost always very good.

Evahe Nürnberg May 2018
Julielynn2013
"Family holiday"

Second stay here, 7 years on, still a delightful, extremely restful and very well located guest lodge. Enjoyed every moment of our stay. Wonderful breakfasts and tasty cakes. Thank you to Margrit and Joe

Julielynn2013 Southampton, United Kingdom April 2018
Stephanie A
"Absolutely wonderful stay at this guest lodge, Can’t wait to return!"

This guest lodge is absolutely amazing, if your trying to find somewhere to stay close to The Kruger National Park, then this is it! We were greeted by Margrit who showed us round the lodge & to our rooms, she also told us about breakfast, the homemade afternoon cakes & honesty bar. The view and swimming pool are beautiful & our whole stay we hardly saw any other guests, it was just such a peaceful place to stay. Margrit gave great advice on where to go with in The Kruger & packed us up with a delicious breakfast and lunch for our day ahead. On the days that we didn’t go to Kruger we had a scrumptious fully cooked breakfast at the lodge overlooking the beautiful views, Margrit got to know our order quite well by the end of our trip. Joe was also very friendly and welcoming, he helped us to book our rafting experience & recommended dinner at a local hotel. We can not wait to go back to South Africa & would not hesitate to book Abangane Guest Lodge again, in fact if there were no rooms available we would probably rearrange our trip to be able to stay there! Thank you so much Joe and Margrit!

Stephanie A April 2018
108aru
"1 night stay"

Wow... beautifull lodge, nice,clean rooms, animals next to your terrace , fantastic food, very friendly staff. We made a nice gamedrive, seen the hippo's in the lake. Lovely place to stay for a few nights.

108aru March 2018
paul4719
"Tranquil Luxury"

We spent just 2 nights at Abangane and could not fault the attention to detail from Joe and Margrit. From being welcomed as we arrived to the beautiful surrroundings, spacious rooms, lovely breakfasts and great location this is a perfect place to enjoy a relaxing few days or to visit Kruger Park. We moved on after a couple of days but wished we had stayed longer. A lovely retreat beautifully managed by Joe and Margrit with typical Swiss style and efficiency.

paul4719 Exeter, United Kingdom March 2018
Antoinettebdc
"Wonderful stay close to Kruger National Park"

Joe and Margrit of Abangane were wonderful hosts – Joe assisted us with arranging successful collection for a game drive in the Kruger National Park and Margrit showed us around and prepared a delicious breakfast for us. Their room had everything that we needed and the property in general was organised and beautiful. In addition to what has already been mentioned, Margrit packed an amazing cooler bag of goodies for our game drive into the Kruger National Park. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Antoinettebdc Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa January 2018
"Abangane (Freunde) der Namen ist Programm!"

Wir durften im Januar für 5 Nächte die herzliche Gastfreundschaft von Margrit und Joe genießen. Es war ein traumhafter Aufenthalt. Sehr schöne, saubere Lodge mit herrlicher Aussicht. Geschmackvoll und gemütlich eingerichtet. Wunderschöner Garten mit beheiztem Infinity-Pool. 
Die Qualität des Frühstücks war hervorragend mit genialem Fruchtsalat und selbst gemachtem Müsli sowie vielen Eiervariationen. Wer früh zum Krüger NP aufbrechen möchte, bekommt eine Frühstücksbox (reichhaltig befüllte Kühltasche ... einmalig - haben wir so noch nicht erlebt!). Die Lodge ist ein toller Ausgangspunkt für Krüger NP und Blyde River Canyon - auch hier haben wir sehr hilfreiche Tipps erhalten. Nach der Rückkehr von tollen Ausflügen haben wir uns über den leckeren selbstgemachten Kuchen von Margrit sehr gefreut. In näherer Umgebung gibt es sehr gute Restaurants (danke für die Reservierung!). Ein Erlebnis der besonderen Art: Joe nimmt die Gäste abends mit zu den Hippos auf den Golfplatz :-)! Auch sein "Weinkeller" ist hervorragend sortiert und Joe berät seine Gäste gerne bei der Auswahl. Uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert! Wir kommen sicherlich wieder! Dankeschön für den wundervollen Abschluss unserer Reise.

January 2018
Frank D
"Room with a view"

Beautiful place to stay; honeymoon suite, superb view on garden and hills. Very warm welcome by owners Joe and Margit. Couldn't be better! Close to Kruger park and Blyde River Canyon and Hazyview town center.

Frank D Ghent, Belgium December 2017
Andrea H
"Perfect and gorgeous!"

Abangane Guest Lodge ist the perfect place to stay if you want to discover the Kruger National Park and the Panorama Route. The lodge is really gorgeous! You can sit outside with a beautiful view and enjoy a glass of wine. The hosts Joe and Margrit helped us to plan our day and gave us very good advices . Breakfast ist very delicious. You get fresh fruits, warm and cold breakfast. Everybody ist very nice and helpul. Next time we definitely stay longer!

Liebe Margrit, lieber Joe,
Vielen Dank für den wundervollen Aufenthalt bei euch! Wir haben die Tage sehr genossen und sind euch sehr dankbar, für eure Gastfreundschaft!

Stefan & Andrea

Andrea H Dusseldorf, Germany November 2017
Rafaelneves2017
"Beautiful and calm place"

We stayed at Abangane for 3 nights and everything was perfect. We had to wake up early to do the safari and the hosts Joe and Magrit prepared for us a picnic basket for breakfast with fruits, sandwiches, water, juice, etc and was so delicious. They provide you with the essential for a perfect stay! The place has a beautiful view and it is so calm to relax after a day of activities. The room is big and clean. We enjoyed the afternoon drinking wines from their bar that has good selections. Joe even took us and other guests to see a bunch of hippos walking off the lake and crossing the golf course in a place nearby. I strongly recommend this place for a nice stay. The hosts can manage everything you need from the activities to restaurants bookings.

Rafaelneves2017 November 2017
thomasmW9589YW
"Very private lodge - wonderful hosts"

Joe and Margit are wonderful hosts who make a casual booking trip to a friendly staying. The garden of Margit is a little paradise with e.g. old frangipanis and jacarandas. The swimming pool is always comfortable hot. At colder days joe heats the fireplace. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and the hosts also think of little stuff like adapters, blow-dryers, coffee-machines and others. The breakfast is very delicious and it always felt like home. The location of the lodge was perfect especially if you want to visit the Krüger national park. Joe is always happy to help at booking safaris and others. We'll definitely come back! 
Greetings Sigrid and Tom.

thomasmW9589YW October 2017
karrie11
"Lovely room and beautiful grounds"

Very very nice - I only wish we were there longer. Unfortunately we were only there for one evening and left early the next morning. Our room was lovely - very nicely done with many little touches and decorations to make it feel homey and warm. The grounds are beautiful and the pool and patio looked very inviting although we did not have time to take advantage of them. I will certainly return to this guest lodge for a longer visit on our next trip to South Africa.

karrie11 Pennsylvania October 2017
FBC552
"Amazing stay"

We spent four incredible nights at Abangane Guest Lodge. Joe and Margrit were phenomenal hosts. Breakfast was delicious, both when we had it in the property and when we took a basket to Kruger with us. The views from the lodge are stunning. The staff is also terrific, everything just worked flawlessly (they even helped me change a flat tire). Every night we'd come back to delicious freshly baked muffins. The location is a short 10 minute drive from a gate to Kruger and is also great for doing the Panorama Route. I would recommend you have a private car, otherwise access could be tricky. We had to reschedule our dates and had no problems with that thanks to Joe's assistance. Only minor issue was that the wi-fi did not work in our room (but worked perfectly on common areas). I wish we could have stayed longer and hope to come back one day.

FBC552 Brasilia, DF September 2017
Londiwe M
"“Accommodation while visiting Kruger Park”"

A comfortable stay overall with the hosts packing a complete and tasty picnic basket as we went to Kruger. Beautiful views from all rooms. 

Londiwe M January 2016
TexasTraveler7507047
"“Outstanding!”"

The lodge is located on a hillside with outstanding views. The owners were wonderful in everything they did. The breakfast was outstanding and was served with grace and elegance.

TexasTraveler7507047 McKinney, Texas February 2016
Nicole S
"“Wunderschöne Lodge mit einem traumhaften Ausblick”"

Wir verbrachten leider nur 3 Nächte in der Abangane Lodge. Die Zimmer sind gemütlich, sehr sauber und haben alle einen schönen Ausblick. Ich habe immer mit meinem Rücken in fremden Betten Probleme, aber habe in diesen Betten schmerzfrei und fest wie ein Stein geschlafen. Das Frühstück ist super lecker und mehr als reichhaltig. Der gute Kaffee schmeckt bei Aussicht gleich noch besser. Die Gastgeber sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit bei der Tourenplanung. Von da aus kann man ganz bequem Ausflüge, wie zum Blyde River Canyon und alle Wasserfälle, Gods Window usw. machen. Unbedingt auch Zeit für den tollen Infinity Pool und Aussicht einplanen. Wir kommen wieder!!

Nicole S Burg (Spreewald), Deutschland March 2016
Barbara P
"“Hidden gem”"

Yes, a guest house/ B&b but at a standard and quality that takes it way beyond expectations. Every detail has been looked to, from room comforts to a constant supply of delicious cakes baked on site.

Barbara P August 2016
Dominic T
"“Good to be back!”"

We revisited Abangane. And again it was a pleasant stay. Close to Hazyview, with excellent view. Rooms are spacious and well kept and clean.  One feels at home instantly. We highly recommend this good B&B

Dominic T Dar es Salaam, Tanzania August 2016
Giacomo V
"“Incredible”"

The location is simply beautiful. The lodge is set at a very high standard. The breakfast was the best we had in the entire trip. The swimming pool is heated so we could use it also during African winter.

Giacomo V Turin, Italy August 2016
Andreas F
"“What a wonderful world”"

One of the best privat lodges in SA. We were already 2 times there. This lodge has a perfect location up on the hill with a perfect view. Great breakfast, best accomodation, top service and close to the gates for the Kruger Park. We will come back.

Andreas F Tuttlingen, Germany September 2016
Stephan, Kanton
"“Eine herrliche Erfahrung und genau am richtigen Ort”"

Klein aber fein - was für ein Glück, dass die Lodge nur 5 Zimmer hat. Damit bleibt alles sehr familiär. Wir haben das sehr geschätzt und würden jederzeit wieder kommen. Die liebevolle und ruhige Stimmung ergibt sich auch durch das aufmerksame Management-Paar (Joe und Margrit) welche sehr sorgfältig am Werk sind. Was für eine schöne Abwechslung im Vergleich zu grossen Hotels und vollen Resorts. Und abends noch einen Drink am Pool beim Zuhören der Grillen und Frösche - einfach herrlich.

Stephan, Kanton Zürich, Schweiz Oktober 2016
Leatherwings
"“Absolutely delighted”"

This Guest Lodge is a great value. Possibly the most elegant yet down to earth place I have stayed. The friendliness and hospitality is top notch. You soon feel right at home. Joe and Margrit are excellent hosts and see to your needs. The breakfast selections were delicious.

Located just minutes from the restaurants and shops in Hazyview, yet feeling as remote and relaxed as you could ask for, this is a quiet oasis after your day's activities. Whether relaxing by the pool or enjoying the view from the veranda outside my well appointed room, I was happy I discovered this retreat. I hope to visit the area again, and Abangane will at the top of my list.

Leatherwings Tennessee, USA October 2016
Wolfgang M
"“Afrikan Lifestyle mit Schweizer Qualität”"

Die Abandgane Guest Lodge liegt oberhalb von Hazyview in einer alten Bananenplantage mit Blick über die Stadt in Richtung Sabie River und dem Krüger Nationalpark. Das schweizer Gastgeberehepaar kümmert sich um das leibliche Wohl und die Planung der Tagesausflüge. 10 Minuten zum Krüger Nationalpark empfehle ich die geführte Safari zu den Big5. Der schöne Sabie River Sun Golfplatz ist nur 300m von der Lodge entfernt. Abschläge über Hipos und Krokokodile inklusive. Greenfee ca. 15€ (ein Schnäppchen). Auch die Panoramaroute zu den Wasserfällen, den Potholes und dem Blyde River Canyon ist von der Lodge aus ideal als Tagestour durchführbar!

Wolfgang M Spicheren, Frankreich Oktober 2016
h4t9k
"“Tolles Quartier mit familiärer Atmosphäre”"

Wunderbarer Blick von der Terrasse, auf der auch das Frühstück eingenommen wird. Schöne und bestens ausgestattete Zimmer (5 Zimmer). Freundliche Gastgeber, die für eine sehr persönliche und familiäre Atmosphäre während des Aufenthaltes sorgen. Ausgezeichnetes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Guter Ausgangsort für den Besuch des Blyderiver Canyons und des Krüger-NP.

h4t9k Brühl, Deutschland November 2016
Regula G
"“Wonderful!!!”"

Thank you very much, Margrit and Joe.
A wonderful place to stay. There was a warm welcome through the owner Joe with all the information needed. The room is spacious and clean, the beds are very good. There is a wonderful swimming pool with a stunning view over the country.
We had an excellent breakfast, cold and cooked and a real coffee. There is a honesty bar with different drinks and some very nice wines. Margrit, Joe's wife, bakes cakes every day, it's a must to try them, they are delicious. 
The staff is very nice and friendly. It's a place to come back

Regula G Winterthur, Switzerland November 2016
950Hennip
"“Lovely place to relax”"

We (7 guests) recently stayed with Abangane for 3 nights, and the response from everyone was that it was an excellent experience. Friendly and helpful owners, a perfect setting, good service and attention to detail where it matters. Next time we will stay an extra day and use this to relax around the pool. Thanks again from all of us at 2Africareal.

950Hennip Port Elizabeth November 2016
Jens Q
"“Very nice rooms, super friendly owner”"

The owner Joe & Margrit gave us a very warm welcome. The rooms are big, very clean and very well equipped. Breakfast was great. Coffee/cake is available for free during the afternoon. A well equipped self-service bar doesn't leave any wishes unfulfilled. We felt very comfortable there during our stay and can definitely recommend it. The owner are Swiss and thus also speak German.

Jens Q Frankfurt, Germany December 2016
Deljr
"“Great Hotel & Amazing Views”"

The room was very affordable with great views and close to Kruger National Park & The Senic Route. The property was great but the lodge owners made the stay extra special. They even invted the guests to their local country club to watch the hippos exit the lake in the evening. Highly recommended for anyone not opting to stay in the Kruger reserve.

Deljr New York, USA December 2016
Roseanne S
"“If I could give 10 stars i would”"

Absolutely idyllic location, Johannes and margrit are such wonderful and open hearted people they will make your stay so special. And margrits baking is to die for. Another advantage is of course that it is located really close to Kruger and blyde river canyon. Go here its beautiful.

Roseanne S February 2017
Bickersblackburn
"“Amazing !!!!!”"

This was our second stay, and our first with Joe and Margrit who took over from Klaus and Ridwan, lived everything about it, the rooms are very well kept, breakfast good, afternoon coffee/tea and Margrits home made cakes lovely. They are a lovely couple and will go out of their way to help you, see you soon Abangane

Bickersblackburn Blackburn, UK January 2017
Eric
"“Beautiful place and nice hosts”"

We enjoyed our stay at Abangane very much. The atmosphere was very relaxed, the place very clear and the view from the guesthouse is really stunning. We would highly recommend this place for visiting Kruger NP or Panorama route.

Eric The Netherlands February 2017
Tim T
"“A Kruger Retreat”"

A well located and comfortable guest lodge, extremely well run,clean and relaxing. Joe, his wife and staff could not have been more welcoming, and made our stay very relaxing.It would have rated five stars if it was not for the long drive up to the property which was challenging. Great for Kruger Park.

Tim T Milford on Sea, UK March 2017
Matthijs
"“Excellent....”"

The hosts give a warm welcome for the visitors and are very helpful with practical advices for trips.The rooms look out over a valley. The garden is wonderful and nice decorated. There is a swimmong pool. Excellent breakfast. The Lodge is central located for visiting the Panorama-Route, Krugerpark, restaurants and shops.

, ,

Matthijs Belgium March 2017
Lea S
"“Can highly recommend this place”"

We have been there for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time there. Margret und Joe are really warm, friendly and wonderful hosts. They will help you to find good restaurants in the area and also arrange safari trips for you. The lodge is beautiful, especially the view from the terrace and pool. The breakfast was the best breakfast we had so far and also if you have to leave really early in the morning for your da trip Margret provides you a really delicious lunch box. The rooms were clean and we just can highly recommend this place for your stay in South Africa!

Lea S March 2017
Stephan M
"“African feeling with Swiss Quality”"

Perfect location close to all activities...we had 3 nights in a good environment...large rooms with ensuite bathroom, you have all what you need and a perfect service.... good Restaurants not far away from the location... we will join it again..

Stephan M Zurich, Switzerland March 2017
Ryan & Lauren
"“Bush feel Luxury!”"

We where greeted by Joe as we arrived, he was extremely friendly and showed us around before showing us our room. The room was very pleasant, with a lot of space and a nice and big Bathroom with separate Toilet. The view from the room was absolutely breathtaking and the whole area/Lodge gave off a very peaceful atmosphere. We got there on a very hot day and immediately jumped into the pool, which was at a perfect temperature. 
We hadn't planned much for Dinner, and when we asked Joe and Magrit, they gave us a few recomendations. We chose the most recomended one and Joe imidiately got on the phone to the resturaunt, made a reservation and we even recieved a discount at the resturaunt for having stayed at Abangane.
The breakfasts where perfect. Everything one could need was there. One morning we left early and went to the Kruger Park. Magrit packed us a picknick basket, which we took with us on the day and there was so much food in the basket, we could barely dent it during the whole day.
My only suggestion to guests would be to take precaution with the road from the main road to the lodge. This (at the time we stayed there) was a sand road and did manage to scratch the bottom of our low car here and there. Nothing serious, but definitely not made for lower cars, although a low car would still manage to easily get to the lodge.
The whole experience was extremely pleasant and we can't wait to go back!

Ryan & Lauren March 2017
J Mariem
"“Paradise in the Kruger”"

Wonderful stay in guest lodge in which the food,service and vistas were second to none. The Rooms were spacious and had all amenities.....although may be a little dark. Close to the Kruger and also many good restaurants. Breakfasts were wonderful.....our particular favourite Was Margrits homemade muesli!

J Mariem London, UK March 2017
Annabelle A
"“Fantastic Stay”"

The Abangane Guest Lodge was the perfect haven for our trip to Kruger National Park. It's ideally situated for both Kruger and the Panorama Route. The lodge itself is breathtaking - gorgeous views, clean, safe and lovely rooms, a wonderful pool and most importantly the nicest people. The hosts were beyond helpful, organizing a guided trip to Kruger for us that was a phenomenal experience (with a great guide named Martin) and always making sure we were having a good time and that we had any and everything that we might need. Would definitely come here again and highly recommend it!

 

Annabelle A March 2017
Valie et Chuck
""Magique Abangane""

"Abangane Guest Lodge est orchestré par Joe et Margret avec élégance et simplicité. Ils sauront vous choyer et conseiller pour toutes sorties découvertes. Idéalement situé, ce Guest Lodge vous invite à poser vos valises et découvrir toutes les Merveilles du Mpumalanga et ses alentours. Très précieux aussi, tous deux parlent parfaitement les langues française, allemande et anglaise!
Petits-déjeuners exquis et copieux, sans oublier le "tea time" avec ses "douceurs" préparées maison. Prenez le temps de savourer le jardin "un petit bijou" avec sa piscine à débordement surplombant les macadamia trees. 
Le personnel de maison est un océan de sourire, efficace et discret.
Félicitations! Nous reviendrons en votre demeure pour que la magie opère encore..

Valie et Chuck Gabon April 2017
EJ_Hausen
"Swiss-African hospitality"

Abangane guest lodge is situated just outside of Hazyview near the Krüger park and offers five very nice guest rooms. The day starts with a healthy breakfast with daily fresh fruit salad, Muesli made by Margrit and a variety of cooked food. We loved the Farmers Breakfast with eggs, ham and cheese in a small pan. Excellent! The area offers quite some attractions, first of all the Krüger park but also scenic routes and golf courses. The Sabi River Sun golf course is just within minutes reachable. A very nice golf course with challenging holes to play at a very reasonable price. The Swiss owners Joe and Margrit help you to plan your day. There are some nice restaurants in the nearby area where you have dinner: Summerfield Estate, Pioneers Butcher Grill, Kuka Café and G's. If you like it rough, visit Tanks, a real bush bar within a 10 minutes drive. Abangane is the perfect retreat in the Lowfeld, the offer is worth every Rand!

EJ_Hausen Brugg, Switzerland April 2017
Margarita U
"Unvergesslicher Aufenthalt"

Wir wurden mit einem warmen Welcome und einem feinen Drink durch die Besitzer und Gastgeber Margrit und Joe empfangen.

Die sehr geschmackvoll und mit vielen Details liebevoll eingerichtete Lodge ist ideal gelegen, ca. 15 Min. vom Krüger Nationalpark entfernt, auch in guter Reichweite für weitere Ausflüge, mit schöner Aussicht auf den Infinity Pool und die Macademia Plantagen, eingebettet in einen romantischen Garten. Die Zimmer und Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten sind komfortabel, zweckdienlich und stets sauber gepflegt.

Das Frühstück ist Spitzenklasse – nebst frischem Obstsalat, Fruchtsäften, Käse, feinem Brot etc. werden die Eierspeisen gemäss Auswahlmenu individuell und persönlich von der Hobbyköchin Margrit zubereitet und dann vom freundlichen Personal serviert. Nicht zu vergessen sind die köstlichen Kuchen, die sie täglich hingezaubert hat – besser als in jeder Konfiserie! Auch die Wäsche kam im Nu wieder perfekt gewaschen und gebügelt retour.

Wir haben es sehr genossen und auch die Ratschläge und Insidertipps von Joe zu den Ausflügen und Golfplätzen sehr geschätzt. Wir können Abangane jederzeit bedingungslos weiterempfehlen – wir kommen wieder! Mägi und Werner aus der Schweiz

Margarita U Regensdorf, Switzerland May 2017
SirSlamelot
"Abangane Guest Lodge - Honeymoney Suite"

It was a lovely stay at Abangane Guest Lodge. Joe and Margrit are excellent hosts and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. Located a bit outside of Hazyview it's a very good option in case you want to visit Kruger National Park or Panorama Route.

SirSlamelot Munich, Germany May 2017
920ankea
"Schöne ruhige Unterkunft"

Schöne gepflegte ruhige Unterkunft, nette Gastgeber, nur 5 wenige Fahrminuten zu Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und Restaurants. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt.

Guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge zur Panoramaroute und zum Krüger Nationalpark.

920ankea Staufenberg, Germany May 2017
Lutz B
"Fantastische 10 Tage am Tor zum Krüger Nationalpark bei Jo und Margit"

Fantastische 10 Tage am Tor zum Krüger Nationalpark bei Jo und Margit

 

unser 10 tägiger Aufenthalt in der Abangane Lodge bei Jo und Margit war ein einmaliges Erlebnis.

Angefangen von der zauberhaften Lage und der geschmackvoll und qualitativ hochwertig eingerichteten Lodge blieben für uns keine Wünsche offen.

Das überaus freundliche Personal, das man kaum spürte wenn es im Haus bei der Arbeit war, half uns wo es nur konnte.

Alle unsere Fragen und Anliegen wurden zuverlässig beantwortet. Ebenso wurden die von uns gewünschten Ausflüge organisiert.

Tips zu guten Restaurants sowie Vorschläge zu Sehenswürdigkeiten bekamen wir ohne zu fragen.

Tägliche Reinigung, Handtücher und Bettwäsche ließen uns wie zu Hause fühlen.

Es wird alles getan um den Kunden zufrieden zu stellen. Die Leckereien von Margit zum zum Frühstück und Nachmittagstee sind gigantisch gut, weil selbst gebacken. Jo steht immer mit Rat und Tat zur Seite und geht auch schon mal mit auf eine Runde Golf.

Alles in allem waren wir äußerst zufrieden und kommen jederzeit gerne wieder.

 

Zimmertipp: Alle Schlafzimmer sind klimatisiert und mit Moskitonetzen ausgestattet. Hervorragende Matratzen und ein wunderschönes Badezimmer mit Dusche.

 

Lutz aus D

Lutz B Heilbronn, Germany May 2017
Alicia E
"“Go there - feed your soul!”"

I've just returned from my 5th stay at Abangane Guest Lodge and I am already looking forward to the next time. Yum breakfasts, comfy beds, fab views, bird choirs all day and super welcoming hosts and staff. The proximity to the Kruger Park and Panorama Tour is great. I love it there!

Alicia E Cape Town Central, South Africa May 2016
713maksimb
"Definetely recommend"

Nice place, far away from people crouds, main roads and other noises. Nice view over the valley. 15-minutes drive to Pauil Kruger National park, 4-minutes - to the Hazyview town restaurants and shops. Strong breakfast. Full set of comfort facilities. All in perfect condition.

And most important - very friendly owners, who provide you with reasonable recommendations, what to see, where to go to eat etc.

We would like to come again and definetely recommend.

713maksimb Johannesburg, South Africa May 2017
memi2610
"mindestens 10 Sterne wert"

Wir haben 3 Nächte hier gebucht. Wer kann, sollte mehr Zeit hier verbringen. Margrit und Joe haben tolle Tips, buchen auch Ausflüge etc. wenn man das möchte. Das Frühstück ist top, Auswahl riesig, draußen in der Sonne oder im Schatten, wie man möchte frühstücken, wem es zu kalt ist auch drinnen. Nachmittags kann man sich kostenlos Kaffe/ Tee und selbstgebackenen Kuchen nehmen. Ein beheizter Pool ist vorhanden. Es ist total ruhig dort und man kann wirklich die Seele baumeln lassen. Am Abend nach ereignisreichen Tagen kann man drinnen beim Feuer im Kamin den Tag Revue passieren lassen. An der Bar kann man sich selbst bedienen oder Joe's Weinempfehlung folgen.

Beide sind total herzlich und freundlich und auch das Personal ist sehr zuvorkommend.

Das Zimmer groß, sauber, tolles Bad. Man hat vom Bett aus einen grandiosen Ausblick. Eine Unterkunft um 3 Wochen oder länger zu bleiben.

Hier wird an nichts gespart, um den Gästen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu machen.

Es war einfach nur top!!! Ich würde mindestens 10 Sterne vergeben.

memi2610 Wegberg, Germany May 2017
KKamp1983
"Beautiful Lodge"

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Kruger and I wish we had more time at this beautiful property. We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted by Margrit who showed us around and then let us enjoy some delicious apple cake she had just baked. The property was beautiful and clean and if it was a little warmer we probably would have gone for a swim in the pool. We ate dinner at Kuka Restaurant which was about a 2 minute drive from Abangane (recommended by Margrit as there is no restaurant for dinner on site) and had a great dinner. We also drive out to Blyde River Canyon (about 30 minutes) but unfortunately the weather did not cooperate so we didn't really get to see much. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast at the lodge before we departed for Kruger and also got to meet Joe who was super friendly. I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area and would recommend this lodge to anyone traveling through Hazyview.

KKamp1983 Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey June 2017
227hulisanin
"Peace and tranquility"

Peace and tranquility. The place is amazing with a beautiful view. Definitely coming to the establishment when I'm around the area. The hospitality we received was at it's best. Margrit & Joe should keep up the good work

227hulisanin Heidelberg, South Africa August 2017
fred T
"Perfect Location"

Stayed here for 2 nights in January on our way to Kruger national Park, what a great place, really nice welcome, fab rooms, great breakfast, lovely pool with great views over the valley. Perfect hosts with fantastic local knowledge and great recommends for local restaurants including one next to a river in the wilds. would highly recommend

fred T London, United Kingdom August 2017