Testimonials

fred T
"Perfect Location"

Stayed here for 2 nights in January on our way to Kruger national Park, what a great place, really nice welcome, fab rooms, great breakfast, lovely pool with great views over the valley. Perfect hosts with fantastic local knowledge and great recommends for local restaurants including one next to a river in the wilds. would highly recommend

fred T London, United Kingdom August 2017
227hulisanin
"Peace and tranquility"

Peace and tranquility. The place is amazing with a beautiful view. Definitely coming to the establishment when I'm around the area. The hospitality we received was at it's best. Margrit & Joe should keep up the good work

227hulisanin Heidelberg, South Africa August 2017
KKamp1983
"Beautiful Lodge"

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Kruger and I wish we had more time at this beautiful property. We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted by Margrit who showed us around and then let us enjoy some delicious apple cake she had just baked. The property was beautiful and clean and if it was a little warmer we probably would have gone for a swim in the pool. We ate dinner at Kuka Restaurant which was about a 2 minute drive from Abangane (recommended by Margrit as there is no restaurant for dinner on site) and had a great dinner. We also drive out to Blyde River Canyon (about 30 minutes) but unfortunately the weather did not cooperate so we didn't really get to see much. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast at the lodge before we departed for Kruger and also got to meet Joe who was super friendly. I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area and would recommend this lodge to anyone traveling through Hazyview.

KKamp1983 Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey June 2017
memi2610
"mindestens 10 Sterne wert"

Wir haben 3 Nächte hier gebucht. Wer kann, sollte mehr Zeit hier verbringen. Margrit und Joe haben tolle Tips, buchen auch Ausflüge etc. wenn man das möchte. Das Frühstück ist top, Auswahl riesig, draußen in der Sonne oder im Schatten, wie man möchte frühstücken, wem es zu kalt ist auch drinnen. Nachmittags kann man sich kostenlos Kaffe/ Tee und selbstgebackenen Kuchen nehmen. Ein beheizter Pool ist vorhanden. Es ist total ruhig dort und man kann wirklich die Seele baumeln lassen. Am Abend nach ereignisreichen Tagen kann man drinnen beim Feuer im Kamin den Tag Revue passieren lassen. An der Bar kann man sich selbst bedienen oder Joe's Weinempfehlung folgen.

Beide sind total herzlich und freundlich und auch das Personal ist sehr zuvorkommend.

Das Zimmer groß, sauber, tolles Bad. Man hat vom Bett aus einen grandiosen Ausblick. Eine Unterkunft um 3 Wochen oder länger zu bleiben.

Hier wird an nichts gespart, um den Gästen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu machen.

Es war einfach nur top!!! Ich würde mindestens 10 Sterne vergeben.

memi2610 Wegberg, Germany May 2017
713maksimb
"Definetely recommend"

Nice place, far away from people crouds, main roads and other noises. Nice view over the valley. 15-minutes drive to Pauil Kruger National park, 4-minutes - to the Hazyview town restaurants and shops. Strong breakfast. Full set of comfort facilities. All in perfect condition.

And most important - very friendly owners, who provide you with reasonable recommendations, what to see, where to go to eat etc.

We would like to come again and definetely recommend.

713maksimb Johannesburg, South Africa May 2017
Alicia E
"“Go there - feed your soul!”"

I've just returned from my 5th stay at Abangane Guest Lodge and I am already looking forward to the next time. Yum breakfasts, comfy beds, fab views, bird choirs all day and super welcoming hosts and staff. The proximity to the Kruger Park and Panorama Tour is great. I love it there!

Alicia E Cape Town Central, South Africa May 2016
Lutz B
"Fantastische 10 Tage am Tor zum Krüger Nationalpark bei Jo und Margit"

Fantastische 10 Tage am Tor zum Krüger Nationalpark bei Jo und Margit

 

unser 10 tägiger Aufenthalt in der Abangane Lodge bei Jo und Margit war ein einmaliges Erlebnis.

Angefangen von der zauberhaften Lage und der geschmackvoll und qualitativ hochwertig eingerichteten Lodge blieben für uns keine Wünsche offen.

Das überaus freundliche Personal, das man kaum spürte wenn es im Haus bei der Arbeit war, half uns wo es nur konnte.

Alle unsere Fragen und Anliegen wurden zuverlässig beantwortet. Ebenso wurden die von uns gewünschten Ausflüge organisiert.

Tips zu guten Restaurants sowie Vorschläge zu Sehenswürdigkeiten bekamen wir ohne zu fragen.

Tägliche Reinigung, Handtücher und Bettwäsche ließen uns wie zu Hause fühlen.

Es wird alles getan um den Kunden zufrieden zu stellen. Die Leckereien von Margit zum zum Frühstück und Nachmittagstee sind gigantisch gut, weil selbst gebacken. Jo steht immer mit Rat und Tat zur Seite und geht auch schon mal mit auf eine Runde Golf.

Alles in allem waren wir äußerst zufrieden und kommen jederzeit gerne wieder.

 

Zimmertipp: Alle Schlafzimmer sind klimatisiert und mit Moskitonetzen ausgestattet. Hervorragende Matratzen und ein wunderschönes Badezimmer mit Dusche.

 

Lutz aus D

Lutz B Heilbronn, Germany May 2017
920ankea
"Schöne ruhige Unterkunft"

Schöne gepflegte ruhige Unterkunft, nette Gastgeber, nur 5 wenige Fahrminuten zu Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und Restaurants. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt.

Guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge zur Panoramaroute und zum Krüger Nationalpark.

920ankea Staufenberg, Germany May 2017
SirSlamelot
"Abangane Guest Lodge - Honeymoney Suite"

It was a lovely stay at Abangane Guest Lodge. Joe and Margrit are excellent hosts and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. Located a bit outside of Hazyview it's a very good option in case you want to visit Kruger National Park or Panorama Route.

SirSlamelot Munich, Germany May 2017
Margarita U
"Unvergesslicher Aufenthalt"

Wir wurden mit einem warmen Welcome und einem feinen Drink durch die Besitzer und Gastgeber Margrit und Joe empfangen.

Die sehr geschmackvoll und mit vielen Details liebevoll eingerichtete Lodge ist ideal gelegen, ca. 15 Min. vom Krüger Nationalpark entfernt, auch in guter Reichweite für weitere Ausflüge, mit schöner Aussicht auf den Infinity Pool und die Macademia Plantagen, eingebettet in einen romantischen Garten. Die Zimmer und Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten sind komfortabel, zweckdienlich und stets sauber gepflegt.

Das Frühstück ist Spitzenklasse – nebst frischem Obstsalat, Fruchtsäften, Käse, feinem Brot etc. werden die Eierspeisen gemäss Auswahlmenu individuell und persönlich von der Hobbyköchin Margrit zubereitet und dann vom freundlichen Personal serviert. Nicht zu vergessen sind die köstlichen Kuchen, die sie täglich hingezaubert hat – besser als in jeder Konfiserie! Auch die Wäsche kam im Nu wieder perfekt gewaschen und gebügelt retour.

Wir haben es sehr genossen und auch die Ratschläge und Insidertipps von Joe zu den Ausflügen und Golfplätzen sehr geschätzt. Wir können Abangane jederzeit bedingungslos weiterempfehlen – wir kommen wieder! Mägi und Werner aus der Schweiz

Margarita U Regensdorf, Switzerland May 2017
EJ_Hausen
"Swiss-African hospitality"

Abangane guest lodge is situated just outside of Hazyview near the Krüger park and offers five very nice guest rooms. The day starts with a healthy breakfast with daily fresh fruit salad, Muesli made by Margrit and a variety of cooked food. We loved the Farmers Breakfast with eggs, ham and cheese in a small pan. Excellent! The area offers quite some attractions, first of all the Krüger park but also scenic routes and golf courses. The Sabi River Sun golf course is just within minutes reachable. A very nice golf course with challenging holes to play at a very reasonable price. The Swiss owners Joe and Margrit help you to plan your day. There are some nice restaurants in the nearby area where you have dinner: Summerfield Estate, Pioneers Butcher Grill, Kuka Café and G's. If you like it rough, visit Tanks, a real bush bar within a 10 minutes drive. Abangane is the perfect retreat in the Lowfeld, the offer is worth every Rand!

EJ_Hausen Brugg, Switzerland April 2017
Valie et Chuck
""Magique Abangane""

"Abangane Guest Lodge est orchestré par Joe et Margret avec élégance et simplicité. Ils sauront vous choyer et conseiller pour toutes sorties découvertes. Idéalement situé, ce Guest Lodge vous invite à poser vos valises et découvrir toutes les Merveilles du Mpumalanga et ses alentours. Très précieux aussi, tous deux parlent parfaitement les langues française, allemande et anglaise!
Petits-déjeuners exquis et copieux, sans oublier le "tea time" avec ses "douceurs" préparées maison. Prenez le temps de savourer le jardin "un petit bijou" avec sa piscine à débordement surplombant les macadamia trees. 
Le personnel de maison est un océan de sourire, efficace et discret.
Félicitations! Nous reviendrons en votre demeure pour que la magie opère encore..

Valie et Chuck Gabon April 2017
Annabelle A
"“Fantastic Stay”"

The Abangane Guest Lodge was the perfect haven for our trip to Kruger National Park. It's ideally situated for both Kruger and the Panorama Route. The lodge itself is breathtaking - gorgeous views, clean, safe and lovely rooms, a wonderful pool and most importantly the nicest people. The hosts were beyond helpful, organizing a guided trip to Kruger for us that was a phenomenal experience (with a great guide named Martin) and always making sure we were having a good time and that we had any and everything that we might need. Would definitely come here again and highly recommend it!

 

Annabelle A March 2017
J Mariem
"“Paradise in the Kruger”"

Wonderful stay in guest lodge in which the food,service and vistas were second to none. The Rooms were spacious and had all amenities.....although may be a little dark. Close to the Kruger and also many good restaurants. Breakfasts were wonderful.....our particular favourite Was Margrits homemade muesli!

J Mariem London, UK March 2017
Ryan & Lauren
"“Bush feel Luxury!”"

We where greeted by Joe as we arrived, he was extremely friendly and showed us around before showing us our room. The room was very pleasant, with a lot of space and a nice and big Bathroom with separate Toilet. The view from the room was absolutely breathtaking and the whole area/Lodge gave off a very peaceful atmosphere. We got there on a very hot day and immediately jumped into the pool, which was at a perfect temperature. 
We hadn't planned much for Dinner, and when we asked Joe and Magrit, they gave us a few recomendations. We chose the most recomended one and Joe imidiately got on the phone to the resturaunt, made a reservation and we even recieved a discount at the resturaunt for having stayed at Abangane.
The breakfasts where perfect. Everything one could need was there. One morning we left early and went to the Kruger Park. Magrit packed us a picknick basket, which we took with us on the day and there was so much food in the basket, we could barely dent it during the whole day.
My only suggestion to guests would be to take precaution with the road from the main road to the lodge. This (at the time we stayed there) was a sand road and did manage to scratch the bottom of our low car here and there. Nothing serious, but definitely not made for lower cars, although a low car would still manage to easily get to the lodge.
The whole experience was extremely pleasant and we can't wait to go back!

Ryan & Lauren March 2017
Stephan M
"“African feeling with Swiss Quality”"

Perfect location close to all activities...we had 3 nights in a good environment...large rooms with ensuite bathroom, you have all what you need and a perfect service.... good Restaurants not far away from the location... we will join it again..

Stephan M Zurich, Switzerland March 2017
Lea S
"“Can highly recommend this place”"

We have been there for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time there. Margret und Joe are really warm, friendly and wonderful hosts. They will help you to find good restaurants in the area and also arrange safari trips for you. The lodge is beautiful, especially the view from the terrace and pool. The breakfast was the best breakfast we had so far and also if you have to leave really early in the morning for your da trip Margret provides you a really delicious lunch box. The rooms were clean and we just can highly recommend this place for your stay in South Africa!

Lea S March 2017
Matthijs
"“Excellent....”"

The hosts give a warm welcome for the visitors and are very helpful with practical advices for trips.The rooms look out over a valley. The garden is wonderful and nice decorated. There is a swimmong pool. Excellent breakfast. The Lodge is central located for visiting the Panorama-Route, Krugerpark, restaurants and shops.

, ,

Matthijs Belgium March 2017
Tim T
"“A Kruger Retreat”"

A well located and comfortable guest lodge, extremely well run,clean and relaxing. Joe, his wife and staff could not have been more welcoming, and made our stay very relaxing.It would have rated five stars if it was not for the long drive up to the property which was challenging. Great for Kruger Park.

Tim T Milford on Sea, UK March 2017
Eric
"“Beautiful place and nice hosts”"

We enjoyed our stay at Abangane very much. The atmosphere was very relaxed, the place very clear and the view from the guesthouse is really stunning. We would highly recommend this place for visiting Kruger NP or Panorama route.

Eric The Netherlands February 2017
Bickersblackburn
"“Amazing !!!!!”"

This was our second stay, and our first with Joe and Margrit who took over from Klaus and Ridwan, lived everything about it, the rooms are very well kept, breakfast good, afternoon coffee/tea and Margrits home made cakes lovely. They are a lovely couple and will go out of their way to help you, see you soon Abangane

Bickersblackburn Blackburn, UK January 2017
Roseanne S
"“If I could give 10 stars i would”"

Absolutely idyllic location, Johannes and margrit are such wonderful and open hearted people they will make your stay so special. And margrits baking is to die for. Another advantage is of course that it is located really close to Kruger and blyde river canyon. Go here its beautiful.

Roseanne S February 2017
Deljr
"“Great Hotel & Amazing Views”"

The room was very affordable with great views and close to Kruger National Park & The Senic Route. The property was great but the lodge owners made the stay extra special. They even invted the guests to their local country club to watch the hippos exit the lake in the evening. Highly recommended for anyone not opting to stay in the Kruger reserve.

Deljr New York, USA December 2016
Jens Q
"“Very nice rooms, super friendly owner”"

The owner Joe & Margrit gave us a very warm welcome. The rooms are big, very clean and very well equipped. Breakfast was great. Coffee/cake is available for free during the afternoon. A well equipped self-service bar doesn't leave any wishes unfulfilled. We felt very comfortable there during our stay and can definitely recommend it. The owner are Swiss and thus also speak German.

Jens Q Frankfurt, Germany December 2016
950Hennip
"“Lovely place to relax”"

We (7 guests) recently stayed with Abangane for 3 nights, and the response from everyone was that it was an excellent experience. Friendly and helpful owners, a perfect setting, good service and attention to detail where it matters. Next time we will stay an extra day and use this to relax around the pool. Thanks again from all of us at 2Africareal.

950Hennip Port Elizabeth November 2016
Regula G
"“Wonderful!!!”"

Thank you very much, Margrit and Joe.
A wonderful place to stay. There was a warm welcome through the owner Joe with all the information needed. The room is spacious and clean, the beds are very good. There is a wonderful swimming pool with a stunning view over the country.
We had an excellent breakfast, cold and cooked and a real coffee. There is a honesty bar with different drinks and some very nice wines. Margrit, Joe's wife, bakes cakes every day, it's a must to try them, they are delicious. 
The staff is very nice and friendly. It's a place to come back

Regula G Winterthur, Switzerland November 2016
h4t9k
"“Tolles Quartier mit familiärer Atmosphäre”"

Wunderbarer Blick von der Terrasse, auf der auch das Frühstück eingenommen wird. Schöne und bestens ausgestattete Zimmer (5 Zimmer). Freundliche Gastgeber, die für eine sehr persönliche und familiäre Atmosphäre während des Aufenthaltes sorgen. Ausgezeichnetes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Guter Ausgangsort für den Besuch des Blyderiver Canyons und des Krüger-NP.

h4t9k Brühl, Deutschland November 2016
Wolfgang M
"“Afrikan Lifestyle mit Schweizer Qualität”"

Die Abandgane Guest Lodge liegt oberhalb von Hazyview in einer alten Bananenplantage mit Blick über die Stadt in Richtung Sabie River und dem Krüger Nationalpark. Das schweizer Gastgeberehepaar kümmert sich um das leibliche Wohl und die Planung der Tagesausflüge. 10 Minuten zum Krüger Nationalpark empfehle ich die geführte Safari zu den Big5. Der schöne Sabie River Sun Golfplatz ist nur 300m von der Lodge entfernt. Abschläge über Hipos und Krokokodile inklusive. Greenfee ca. 15€ (ein Schnäppchen). Auch die Panoramaroute zu den Wasserfällen, den Potholes und dem Blyde River Canyon ist von der Lodge aus ideal als Tagestour durchführbar!

Wolfgang M Spicheren, Frankreich Oktober 2016
Leatherwings
"“Absolutely delighted”"

This Guest Lodge is a great value. Possibly the most elegant yet down to earth place I have stayed. The friendliness and hospitality is top notch. You soon feel right at home. Joe and Margrit are excellent hosts and see to your needs. The breakfast selections were delicious.

Located just minutes from the restaurants and shops in Hazyview, yet feeling as remote and relaxed as you could ask for, this is a quiet oasis after your day's activities. Whether relaxing by the pool or enjoying the view from the veranda outside my well appointed room, I was happy I discovered this retreat. I hope to visit the area again, and Abangane will at the top of my list.

Leatherwings Tennessee, USA October 2016
Stephan, Kanton
"“Eine herrliche Erfahrung und genau am richtigen Ort”"

Klein aber fein - was für ein Glück, dass die Lodge nur 5 Zimmer hat. Damit bleibt alles sehr familiär. Wir haben das sehr geschätzt und würden jederzeit wieder kommen. Die liebevolle und ruhige Stimmung ergibt sich auch durch das aufmerksame Management-Paar (Joe und Margrit) welche sehr sorgfältig am Werk sind. Was für eine schöne Abwechslung im Vergleich zu grossen Hotels und vollen Resorts. Und abends noch einen Drink am Pool beim Zuhören der Grillen und Frösche - einfach herrlich.

Stephan, Kanton Zürich, Schweiz Oktober 2016
Andreas F
"“What a wonderful world”"

One of the best privat lodges in SA. We were already 2 times there. This lodge has a perfect location up on the hill with a perfect view. Great breakfast, best accomodation, top service and close to the gates for the Kruger Park. We will come back.

Andreas F Tuttlingen, Germany September 2016
Giacomo V
"“Incredible”"

The location is simply beautiful. The lodge is set at a very high standard. The breakfast was the best we had in the entire trip. The swimming pool is heated so we could use it also during African winter.

Giacomo V Turin, Italy August 2016
Dominic T
"“Good to be back!”"

We revisited Abangane. And again it was a pleasant stay. Close to Hazyview, with excellent view. Rooms are spacious and well kept and clean.  One feels at home instantly. We highly recommend this good B&B

Dominic T Dar es Salaam, Tanzania August 2016
Barbara P
"“Hidden gem”"

Yes, a guest house/ B&b but at a standard and quality that takes it way beyond expectations. Every detail has been looked to, from room comforts to a constant supply of delicious cakes baked on site.

Barbara P August 2016
Nicole S
"“Wunderschöne Lodge mit einem traumhaften Ausblick”"

Wir verbrachten leider nur 3 Nächte in der Abangane Lodge. Die Zimmer sind gemütlich, sehr sauber und haben alle einen schönen Ausblick. Ich habe immer mit meinem Rücken in fremden Betten Probleme, aber habe in diesen Betten schmerzfrei und fest wie ein Stein geschlafen. Das Frühstück ist super lecker und mehr als reichhaltig. Der gute Kaffee schmeckt bei Aussicht gleich noch besser. Die Gastgeber sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit bei der Tourenplanung. Von da aus kann man ganz bequem Ausflüge, wie zum Blyde River Canyon und alle Wasserfälle, Gods Window usw. machen. Unbedingt auch Zeit für den tollen Infinity Pool und Aussicht einplanen. Wir kommen wieder!!

Nicole S Burg (Spreewald), Deutschland March 2016
TexasTraveler7507047
"“Outstanding!”"

The lodge is located on a hillside with outstanding views. The owners were wonderful in everything they did. The breakfast was outstanding and was served with grace and elegance.

TexasTraveler7507047 McKinney, Texas February 2016
Londiwe M
"“Accommodation while visiting Kruger Park”"

A comfortable stay overall with the hosts packing a complete and tasty picnic basket as we went to Kruger. Beautiful views from all rooms. 

Londiwe M January 2016